top of page

Online References

These sites were used in the research for the book or are suggested locations to learn more about subjects in the book.

 

The links were validated January 7, 2024.

The State Historical Society of Missouri, https://shsmo.org

 

Jackson County Historical Society, https://www.jchs.org/

 

China – Burma – India Theater (contains vast record of content for the CBI theater), http://www.cbi-theater.com/

 

Northeast Kansas City Historical Society, https://nekchs.com/

 

Janssen Place Book, Mount Washington Cemetery Historical Society, https://mwchs.org/janssen-place-book

 

Kansas City Library, Missouri Valley Special Collections, https://kchistory.org/digital-collections

 

The Pendergast Years, Kansas City in the Jazz Age & Great Depression, https://www.pendergastkc.org

Steelville Historical Society, https://steelvillehistoricalsociety.com/

 

Organizations and Clubs

DeMolay International (and Legion of Honor), https://beademolay.org/

Independent Order of Odd Fellows, https://odd-fellows.org

International Order of Hoo Hoo, https://hoohoo.org/

Junior League of Kansas City, Missouri, https://www.jlkc.org

The Pythians, The Order of the Knights of Pythias, https://www.pythias.org/

Modern Woodmen of America, https://www.modernwoodmen.org/

Pauma Valley Country Club, https://www.paumavalleycc.com/

 

Colleges and Universities

The University of Missouri, https://missouri.edu/

Skidmore College, https://www.skidmore.edu/

William Jewell College, https://www.jewell.edu/

The University of Mary Hardin Baylor, https://www.umhb.edu/

Metropolitan Community College (Kansas City Junior College), https://mcckc.edu

The Kansas City Star, https://www.kansascity.com/

The Independent, https://kcindependent.com/

 

Congressional Record for the 80th Congress (records for all terms are accessible here), https://www.congress.gov/congressional-record/80th-congress/browse-by-date

 

Congressman Emanual Cleaver (current Missouri 5th Congressional District Representative), https://cleaver.house.gov/

 

Jackson County Republican Party, https://www.jacomo.gop/

 

National Archives Catalog Search, https://www.archives.gov/research/catalog

 

National Museum of the United States Air Force, https://www.nationalmuseum.af.mil

 

United States Army Corps of Engineers, https://www.usace.army.mil/

 

United States Army Center of Military History, https://history.army.mil

 

United States Army Special Operations Command History Office, https://arsof-history.org/index.html

 

United States Air Force Historical Research Agency, https://www.afhra.af.mil/

 

United States Office of Strategic Services (Detachment 101), https://www.soc.mil/OSS/det-101.html

 

United States Office of the Historian, Foreign Relations of the United States (declassified records for each president), https://history.state.gov/historicaldocuments

 

Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum, https://airandspace.si.edu

 

West Point Modern War Institute, https://mwi.westpoint.edu/

 

Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum (digital collections), http://www.fdrlibrary.marist.edu/archives/collections/franklin/

 

The George C. Marshall Foundation, https://www.marshallfoundation.org/

 

Harry S. Truman Library and Museum, https://www.trumanlibrary.gov/


Current Burma and Stilwell Road Sites

Burma Road Information, https://burma-road.com/

Songshan Battle, https://www.gokunming.com/en/blog/item/3029/songshan-and-the-1944-battle-for-huitong-bridge

 

Federal Bureau of Investigation, early involvement in Kansas City election frauds, https://www.fbi.gov/news/stories/fbi-involvement-in-early-election-fraud-case-in-kansas-city

 

Missouri Secretary of State “Blue Book” – (note that ward and precinct level information is only accessible in the office), https://mdh.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/collection/bluebook

 

The National World War II Museum, New Orleans, https://www.nationalww2museum.org

 

The Laffer Center, The Laffer Curve, https://laffercenter.org/about/curve/

 

The Life (Magazine) Picture Collection, https://www.life.com/life-picture-collection/

 

National Diet Library, Birth of the Constitution of Japan, https://www.ndl.go.jp/constitution/e/outline/00outline.html

 

Newspapers.com by Ancestry, https://www.newspapers.com/

 

U.S. Department of Agriculture, Commodity Credit Corporation, https://www.usda.gov/ccc

 

(U.S.S) General Harry Taylor. Naval History and Heritage Command. https://www.history.navy.mil/research/histories/ship-histories/danfs/g/general-harry-taylor.html

 

Willard Mullin (cartoonist), https://bobstaake.com/willardmullin/home.html

"Golden Age of Baseball" (Willard Mullin with Michael Powers), https://isbnsearch.org/isbn/9781606996393

bottom of page